Taff’s Well B and Cathays Cons top at Christmas

Match 11 results –

Canton Libs Z 4 v 1 Rumney British Legion
Mackintosh 5 v 0 Canton Libs B
Savoy 4 v 1 Taff’s Well A
Senghenydd 4 v 1 Park Club
Taff’s Well B 3 v 2 Canton Libs A
Cathays Cons 1 v 4 Cuesaders
Mackies Lost Boys v Bye


Ryan Rowlands 71 (Savoy)
Jason Hewitt 40 (Mackintosh)
Kishan Hirani 40 (Canton Libs A)

Taff’s Well B are top of the Premier League at Christmas after a hard-fought 3-2 win at home against Canton Libs A kept them two points clear of Savoy, who maintain the pressure with a win over Taff’s Well A by the same scoreline.

Senghenydd stay level on points with Savoy in third place after a 4-1 win over Park Club, whilst Mackintosh gain ground thanks to a 5-0 win at home to Canton Libs B.

Cuesaders got back to winning ways with a 4-1 victory at Cathays Cons, who stay top of Division One despite that defeat, although Canton Libs Z are now in second place after a 4-1 defeat of Rumney British Legion.

Cathays shock the champions!

Match 10 results –

Taff’s Well A 1 v 4 Canton Libs Z
Rumney British Legion 2 v 3 Mackintosh
Cuesaders 1 v 4 Savoy
Canton Libs A 1 v 4 Cathays Cons
Park Club 0 v 5 Taff’s Well B
Mackies Lost Boys 0 v 5 Senghenydd
Canton Libs B v Bye

Cathays Cons have moved to the top of Division One after producing the result of the season so far with an outstanding 4-1 win away to Canton Libs A to inflict successive defeats on the champions. Cathays comfortably won most of the frames with only unbeaten Kishan Hirani providing any resistance for the home team.

Taff’s Well B are now clear at the top of the table after back-to-back 5-0 victores after winning at Park Club, but are followed closely by Savoy who registered an impressive 4-1 victory at Cuesaders.

The Barry side are level in second place with Senghenydd after a 5-0 win against Mackies Lost Boys, whilst Mackintosh move above Canton Libs A into fourth after a 3-2 win at Rumney British Legion and Canton Libs Z won 4-1 at Taff’s Well A.

Savoy keep on winning!

Match 9 results –

Canton Libs Z 2 v 3 Cuesaders
Mackintosh 3 v 2 Taff’s Well A
Canton Libs B 4 v 1 Rumney British Legion
Taff’s Well B 5 v 0 Mackies Lost Boys
Savoy 3 v 2 Canton Libs A
Cathays Cons 4 v 1 Park Club
Senghenydd v Bye


Jason Hewitt 69 (Mackintosh)
Suraj Singh 53 (Taff’s Well A)
Alan Hurley 42 (Mackintosh)

Savoy were victorious in the game of the week with a 3-2 win over champions Canton Libs A to record their 7th straight victory since their opening day defeat to Mackintosh and move up to third in the Premier League.

However, the new league leaders are Taff’s Well B who took advantage of a bye week for Senghenydd in winning 5-0 against Mackies Lost Boys to go one point ahead of Canton Libs A and equal Savoy’s record of 7 wins from 8 games, with Tom Cross and Kevin Brown maintaining their position near the top of the individual rankings.

Mackintosh got back to winning ways with a 3-2 win over Taff’s Well A with a 69 break from Jason Hewitt being the highlight and Steffan Davies and Suraj Singh again winning for the visitors, whilst Cuesaders won a close game 3-2 at Canton Libs Z.

Canton Libs B remain top of Division One with a 4-1 win over Rumney British Legion, but Cathays Cons matched that scoreline against Park Club to stay in second place, only two points behind the leaders.

Canton Libs A gain share of top spot

Match 9 results –

Canton Libs A 3 v 2 Canton Libs Z
Cuesaders 3 v 2 Mackintosh
Taff’s Well A 3 v 2 Canton Libs B
Park Club 2 v 3 Savoy
Mackies Lost Boys 2 v 3 Cathays Cons
Senghenydd 2 v 3 Taff’s Well B
Rumney British Legion v Bye


Jason Hewitt 45 (Mackintosh)

The competitiveness of the league was highlighted this week with every match being decided by a single frame, with Taff’s Well B’s match at Senghenydd being the highlight. The 2016 champions found themselves two down with the third frame going the way of the league leaders before a decisive clearance by Kevin Brown clinched a close frame against Mike Boucher. This gave Taff’s Well the initiative, which they seized on by winning the final two frames and in doing so sealing a 3-2 win.

The defeat for Senghenydd means they are joined at the top of the table by Canton Libs A who won 3-2 in their derby match versus Canton Libs Z, with Kishan Hirani maintaining his perfect 100% start to the season.

Last year’s runners-up Mackintosh lost 3-2 at Cuesaders, whilst Savoy beat Park Club by the same scoreline to move into a share of third place, only three points behind the leaders.

Canton Libs B stay on top of Division One despite a 3-2 defeat at Taff’s Well A, but Cathays Cons closed the gap on their title rivals with a 3-2 win over Mackies Lost Boys to move ahead of Rumney British Legion into second place.

Malcolm Keenor Trophy Results

Group stage results of the Malcolm Keenor Trophy –

Group A

Savoy (0) LOST +34 v Mackintosh (0)
Canton Libs Z (20) WON +193 v Taff’s Well B (0)

Group B

Canton Libs A (0) WON +90 v Canton Libs B (20)
Taff’s Well A (15) WON +31 v Cathays Cons (15)


Mackies Lost Boys (35) WON +2 v Park Club (25)
Rumney British Legion (25) WON +47 v Senghenydd (10)
Cuesaders v Bye


Kishan Hirani 82 (Canton Libs A)
Twm Sion Jones 66 (Canton Libs A)
Adrian Poynter 50 (Park Club)

The first matches of the group stages of the Malcolm Keenor Trophy and Plate took place this week, with a thumping 193 point win for Canton Libs Z over Taff’s Well B being the standout result. They are ahead of Mackintosh at the top of Group A on points difference after a 34 point win for the Roath side at Savoy.

In Group B, there were wins for Canton Libs A who won the derby against Canton Libs B by 90 points, whilst last year’s winners Cathays Cons lost their opening match against Taff’s Well A who won by 31 points.

The closest match of the week came in the Plate, where Mackies Lost Boys won on the final black to beat Park Club and last year’s winners Senghenydd lost by 47 points at Rumney British Legion.