Presentation Night Photos

Annual General Meeting 2019

Thank you to those teams that attended the AGM & Presentation Night at Fairwater Conservative Club. It was an excellent evening with lots of strong debate and discussion to ensure the league continues to improve.

Nine teams sent at least one representative, but we were disappointed not to have attendees from Cuesaders, Mackies Lost Boys, Rumney British Legion and Taff’s Well A.

The CDSA would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors Sugar Creative Studio for their continued support, as it has allowed for the investment in two new annual trophies for the Cardiff Open Pairs and Cardiff Handicap Singles, both of which have been engraved to include all the winners on the league’s Roll of Honour dating back to the 1983-84 season.

The following proposals were submitted, and the vote is attached to each –

Change of Night – Proposed by Terry Garland (Fairwater Cons)
Change the night we play matches from a Thursday to a Tuesday REJECTED BY 8 VOTES TO 1

Match structure – Proposed by Colin Lane (Savoy)
Increase the matches played from 5 players to 6 players REJECTED BY 8 VOTES TO 1

League fees – Proposed by James Llewellyn (Taff’s Well B)
Increase in league fees to £50 per team PASSED BY 7 VOTES TO 2

Handicap Cup / Plate – Proposed by James Llewellyn (Taff’s Well B)
Change format to x4 singles and x1 pairs allowing teams to choose to
play 4, 5 or 6 players in a match REJECTED BY 5 VOTES TO 4

Handicap Cup / Plate – Proposed by Steve Flanagan (Fairwater Cons)
Individual handicap used for cup matches rather than team handicap PASSED BY 5 VOTES TO 4

Doubles Format – Proposed by Martyn Evans (Cathays Cons)
Handicap Pairs matches to played in a scotch doubles format

Continue reading

AGM & Presentation Night

That’s it for the 2018-19 CDSA season, which has once again been an enjoyable year full of exciting matches and some exceptional performances.

Many thanks to all players and captains for contributing to a competitive season, whilst ensuring the game has always been played in the right spirit.

The standard has once again been very high and the league has been very competitive this year, with centuries and lots of high breaks, as well as a range of winners across the different tournaments.

The Cardiff and District Snooker Association Committee would like to thank everyone involved in the league for their support over the past year, and look forward to seeing you at our Annual General Meeting and Presentation Night on Friday 28th June 7.30pm at Fairwater Conservative Club.

Prize Money for 2018-19 season –

Premier League Winners – £100

Cardiff Open Singles Winner – £100
Cardiff Open Singles Runner-up – £50

Cardiff Handicap Singles Winner – £70
Cardiff Handicap Singles Runner-up – £30

Cardiff Open Pairs Winners – £50
Cardiff Open Pairs Runners-up – £25

Cardiff Handicap Pairs Winners – £50
Cardiff Handicap Pairs Runners-up – £25

Roll of Honour 2018-19

Premier League Winners – Savoy
Premier League Runners-Up – Mackintosh
Division One Winners – Canton Libs B
Division One Runners-Up – Trecenydd Snooker
Player of the Year – Jason Hewitt (Mackintosh) 21/23

Malcolm Keenor Trophy Winners – Savoy
Malcolm Keenor Trophy Runners-Up – Taff’s Well B
Handicap Plate – Senghenydd

Cardiff Open Singles Winner – Rhys Carpenter (Taff’s Well B)
Cardiff Open Singles Runner-Up – Ryan Rowlands (Savoy)

Cardiff Open Pairs Winners – Dan Bridle & Alan Morgan (Senghenydd/Savoy)
Cardiff Open Pairs Runners-Up – Tom Cross & Kevin Brown (Taff’s Well B)

Cardiff Handicap Singles Winner – Chris Garwood (Trecenydd Snooker)
Cardiff Handicap Singles Runner-Up – Steffan Davies (Taff’s Well A)

Cardiff Handicap Pairs Winners – Ronnie Allen & Alan Hurley (Mackintosh)
Cardiff Handicap Pairs Runners-Up – Dan Bridle & Alan Morgan (Senghenydd/Savoy)

Premier League Highest Break – Alan Hurley 103 (Mackintosh)
Competition Highest Break – Sam Thomas 125 (Savoy)

Rhys Carpenter wins Cardiff Open Singles

Cardiff Open Singles Final

Ryan Rowlands 2 v 4 Rhys Carpenter

Ryan Rowlands 45

Rhys Carpenter is the 2018-19 Cardiff Open Singles champion after a 4-2 victory over Ryan Rowlands at Taff’s Well Ex-Servicemen’s Club.

Playing in his fifth final, Rowlands started assuredly and took an early lead in the first, but Carpenter hit back with solid potting and shot selection to take the frame to the colours. It eventually went to the black, with a misjudged safety from Carpenter giving Rowlands the opportunity to seal the frame and take a 1-0 lead.

Carpenter started strongly in the next and established an early lead, before a couple of good breaks from Rowlands again took the frame to the colours, but Carpenter maintained his advantage to leave Rowlands needing a snooker on the blue. A couple of attempts went very close before an outstanding safety checked perfectly off the top cushion to land behind the black, leaving Carpenter with a tough escape with pink and black in the open. He judged the two-cushion escape well and Rowlands was unable to land another before Carpenter sank the blue to level things up at 1-1.

It was a big moment in the match as Carpenter seemed to take confidence from drawing level and he dominated the next frame, with Rowlands unable to capitalise when presented with chances and the missed pots coupled with very solid matchplay from Carpenter put him 2-1 ahead. The momentum had now switched and Carpenter built on this in the next with very good long-range potting and tight safety play keeping Rowlands at bay to establish a healthy lead with a handful of reds left. He seized the opportunity on the last red to seal the frame and Rowlands’ concession came on the brown.

So first-time finalist Carpenter

Continue reading

Support the league!

Please contact us if you’d like to advertise in this space

Recent website comments