Champions Remain Unbeaten

Week 5 results

Beech Tree Hotel 3 v 2 Savoy
Canton Libs 4 v 1 Roath Cons
Cathays Cons 3 v 2 Mackintosh Snooker
Rumney British Legion 1 v 4 Fairwater Cons
Taff’s Well 2 v 3 RBL Warriors
Fairwater Cons Mack v Bye


Rob Hayes 57 (Taff’s Well)
Twm Sion Jones 38 (Fairwater Cons)

Fairwater Cons are back on top of the Premier League after they beat Rumney British Legion 4-1 to take advantage of Fairwater Cons Mack’s bye week, but they were made to work hard against Frank Deriu’s side. A 38 break in the opening frame should have been enough for Twm Sion Jones to win comfortably against Ben Harding, but the Rumney player hit back with an excellent snooker to take the match to the colours before Jones potted the blue to take the frame. Terry Garland made it 2-0 with a win over in-form Andy Magill before Albert Columbo pulled one back with victory over Steffan Davies. Shaun O’Connell then won a close one on the pink against captain Deriu, whilst Ben Griffiths had to come back from an early deficit to beat Glyn Hayes on the blue.

Canton Libs made it four wins in a row after their opening week loss in defeating Roath Cons 4-1. Rory Wigmore and Ed Topham got them off to a great start with wins over Phil Storer and Presley Cornock respectively. James Facey sealed the win after he beat Kerri Whiting and Declan O’Callaghan moved to the top of the individual rankings after he defeated Alan Wright, but there was consolation for Roath with a close win for Lee Cornock against James Wigmore in the final frame.

Cathays Cons continue to make a strong start to the season with a 3-2 win over Mackintosh Snooker to take them only one behind Canton in fourth. Jason Summerhayes won the opener against Billy Connors, but Carlos Schiazza levelled the match with victory over Darren Gill. Dave Standage restored Cathays’ lead with a win against Mike Nessbert and Dave Earls made of sure of the win after he beat Nathan Dunne, but Satinder Singh won the final frame of the night against Dan Jones.

Beech Tree Hotel move up to fifth after their 3-2 win over Savoy, but they had to come from behind after Mark Bennett beat Chris Garwood in the first frame. Dan Bridle comfortably beat Colin Lane to make it 1-1 before David Rideout defeated Dave Hurn to make it 2-1. However, Lee Greening’s win against Mike Pardoe levelled the match and took it to a decider, with Ciaran Paul beating Geoff Sheppard to give Bridle’s side their third win of the season.

A disappointing start to the season for Taff’s Well continued after they lost 3-2 at home to RBL Warriors to register their third defeat in a row. Rhys Carpenter won the opening frame for the home side against Ken Linsey but wins for Jason Veal over Jimmy Llewellyn and Chris Johnson against Glyn Jones made it 2-1. Nick Davis then won a close frame on the pink against Kevin Brown, before the individual highlight of the week came in the last with an excellent 57 break from Rob Hayes enough to beat Simon Takata.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “Champions Remain Unbeaten

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back To Top