Trec and Savoy to meet in the Final

Malcolm Keenor Trophy Semi-Final Second Leg results –

Mackintosh 0 v 3 Trecenydd Snooker

Trecenydd Snooker win 6-2 on aggregate

Savoy 4 v 2 Taff’s Well

Savoy win 6-5 on aggregate

Plate Semi-Final results –

Fairwater Cons 1 v 4 Senghenydd

Senghenydd win 6 – 4 on aggregate

Canton Libs B 3 v 3 Llandaff Warriors

Llandaff Warriors win 6-5 on aggregate


Nick Jones 52 (Taff’s Well)

Carl Dimond 36 (Senghenydd)

The final of the Malcolm Keenor Trophy will be between Trecenydd Snooker and Savoy after a night of drama in both competitions.

Trecenydd travelled to Mackintosh (minus their star player Dylan Emery) with a slender 3-2 lead but they quickly wrapped up the tie after Andrew West’s win over Jason Hewitt was followed up by wins for Chris Garwood and Jamie Foster against Ronnie Allen and Clive Marsh respectively.

Their opponents in the final will be Savoy after a repeat of last year’s final against Taff’s Well went to a playoff frame, although Tom Cross’s side looked favourites for the tie after Nick Jones inflicted a rare defeat on Sam Thomas, which included a well-crafted 52 break. Savoy hit back though through captain Colin Lane who beat Kevin Brown, but the advantage was restored when Brian Rees defeated Kyle Patterson. That meant Taff’s Well were 5-3 ahead, but Mark Bennett kept Savoy in the match albeit thanks to a fluke on the blue against Rob Hayes. The next was a close affair as Ryan Rowlands won a tense, black-ball frame to overcome James Llewellyn and take the match to a playoff. Both captains made their pick and a repeat of the opening frame pitted Nick Jones against Sam Thomas. Jones started strongly, but Thomas hit back to take the frame to the colours and eventually sealed the win to take his side through to the final.

There were also close finishes in the Plate where Senghenydd produced the result of the night to win 4-1 at Premier League leaders Fairwater Cons to win their match 6-4 overall. Carl Dimond (36 break) got his side off to a strong start, before Steffan Davies hit back for Fairwater with victory over Dai Sherman. The pivotal frame of the whole tie was next as Dan Bridle beat Luke Pitman on the pink before Tony Palkowski defeated Shaun O’Connell to leave the match 5-4 in Senghenydd’s favour. The final frame of the night saw Mike Boucher beat Terry Garland to seal a 4-1 win and a 6-4 aggregate victory.

Senghenydd’s opponents in the Plate final will be Llandaff Warriors after another closely-fought match was decided in a playoff frame. Llandaff held a 3-2 lead after the first leg, but this was quickly wiped out as Canton won the opening two frames. Llandaff’s captain Chris Johnson was up next against Simon Takata knowing a win was vital to his side’s hopes of making the final. Johnson started well with a 31 break, before Takata hit back to sneak the frame on the black. Canton were now 5-3 up and almost there, but Nick Davies had other ideas and took the match to a final frame where Ken Linsey beat Rory Wigmore to take the match to a playoff. Canton chose Ed Topham, but Linsey stayed on and dominated the frame to comfortably win and send his side through to the final.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the league!

Please contact us if you’d like to advertise in this space

Recent website comments