Cardiff Handicap Singles Stats

This week sees the final of the Plate competition between Senghenydd and Rumney British Legion, and also the Handicap Singles final between Taff’s Well A’s Steffan Davies and Trecenydd’s Chris Garwood at Taff’s Well Ex-Serviceman’s Club, so we thought we’d take a look back at 35 years of Cardiff Handicap Singles history.

The first final took place in 1983-84 which saw Trevon Cann beat John Dobson, whilst the most successful player in the competition’s history is Huw Carpenter of Trecenydd (and more recently Taff’s Well B) who reached at least the semi-finals on 6 occasions in 11 years between 2006 and 2017, winning it three times in 2010, 2014 and 2017.

Other recent winners include two-time winners Kishan Hirani and Craig Davis, along with CDSA regulars Jason Hewitt, Kevin Brown, John-Henry Griffiths, Sam Thomas and Alan Morgan who have all lifted the trophy once. The most consistent performer has been Spencer Symmons who in 25 years has reached the semis on six occasions, losing three finals and registering the highest break twice.

The highest handicap to win was in 1999 when Kevin Brown (+40) beat Tom Cross (+28) in the final, whilst the highest break in the competition’s history came in 2012 with an outstanding 138 break by Daryl Wilson, with a 123 from Kishan Hirani in 2016.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the league!

Please contact us if you’d like to advertise in this space

Recent website comments